Directed by: Dong-hoon Choi 2012 | 139 min.

Section: Closing Night Film

Premiere: United States Premiere


Sponsored by:

Honolulu Star Advertiser


Korean Air

THE THIEVES is a cool, fun and sexy pan-Asian riff on the "heist film."  The film starts off with a hilarious prologue of a diamond heist with the sultry Yenicall (MY SASSY GIRL's Gianna Jun in an amazing comeback role to Korean cinema) seducing, sashaying and leaping across buildings in true cat burglar and grifter fashion. We soon learn that she is part of a crew, headed by Popeye (Jung-jae Lee of THE HOUSEMAID). They are soon joined by the enigmatic and beautiful Pepsee (Hye-su Kim of TAZZA: THE HIGH ROLLERS), who has just been paroled. The reunion of this crew is icy at best. But, they join forces for a job in Macau, with a huge payday. 

The mastermind behind the big scheme is Macao Park (Yun-seok Kim of THE CHASER), Popeye's former partner and Pepsee's old lover. The plan is to steal the "Tear of the Sun," a valuable diamond in transit in one of the city's biggest casinos. They join forces with a Hong Kong team, led by Simon Yam, and map out their strategy. But, is this heist fail-safe? And who is grifting who?
As of this writing, THE THIEVES has smashed box office records since its July release in South Korea, leaping into the top three money-making films of all time. Director Dong-hoon Choi (he of other smash commercial fare TAZZA: THE HIGH ROLLERS, HIFF 2007 and WOOCHI, HIFF 2010) continues his streak of high concept genre films employed by charismatic and dangerous characters full of swagger. HIFF is proud to close this year's Festival with a great addition to Korea's rich cinematic legacy. 

Synopsis written by: Anderson Le


Sunday, October 21 6:30 PM Dole Cannery A Date Passed
Sunday, October 21 9:30 PM Dole Cannery A Date Passed
Sunday, October 21 10:00 PM Dole Cannery B Date Passed

Cast & Crew

Director Dong-hoon Choi
Screenwriter Dong-hoon Choi , Gi-cheol Lee
Producer Soo-hyun Ahn
Cast Yoon-seok Kim, Hye-soo Kim, Jung-Jae Lee, Gianna Jun, Simon Yam, Hae-sook Kim, Dai-soo Oh,Soo-hyun Kim, Derek Tsang, Sinje Lee
Cinematographer Yeong-hwan Choi
Production Designer Ha-jun Lee
Editor Min-kyung Shin

You Might Also Like...

  • Content and Design Copyright © 2009-2017 Hawaii International Film Festival
  • Built on Airship CMS